CHILDREN'S SERVICES COUNCIL OF LEON COUNTY

September 21, 2021 TRIM Public Hearing

APPROVED MINUTES

Members Present: Carmen Conner (Vice-Chair); Carolyn Cummings, Leon County Commissioner; Rocky Hanna, Superintendent of Schools; Darryl Jones, School Board Member; Liza McFadden; Paul Mitchell; Mark O'Bryant; Honorable Jonathan Sjostrom (Chair), Chief Judge; Terrance Watts, DCF Circuit 2 Administrator

Member(s) Not Present: Dr. Zandra Glenn

Location: Tallahassee Community College, Student Union Ballroom, 444 Appleyard Dr., Tallahassee, FL 32304

1. CALL MEETING TO ORDER

Chair Sjostrom called the meeting to order at 5:18 p.m.

2. ROLL CALL

Six Council members were present at the beginning of the meeting, and a quorum was established. Three members arrived late.

3. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Commissioner Carolyn Cummings motioned to approve the agenda as presented. Superintendent Hanna seconded the motion. The agenda was approved unanimously.

4. TRIM OVERVIEW AND PUBLIC READING

Judge Sjostrom presented the final millage rate in accordance with chapter 200 of the Florida Statutes. He then turned the proceedings and the gavel over to Vice Chair Connor.

- a. There was no public comment on the millage rate.
- b. Mr. Chris Roe presented Resolution 2021-04 establishing the final rate for ad valorem millage rate of 0.375. Ms. Liza McFadden motioned to approve Resolution 2021-04 and Commissioner Cummings seconded. The motion was approved, with Judge Sjostrom abstaining from the vote.

5. 2021-2021 BUDGET

a. Mr. Michael Davidson spoke in opposition of the budget.

b. Mr. Paul Mitchell presented the final budget for FY2021-2022, which includes a reserve of 5%. Member discussion ensued on line items for the executive director salary, the tax collector's fee, and how the community investments will be determined based on the needs assessment. Mr. Chris Roe presented Resolution 2021-05 establishing final budget for the forthcoming fiscal year. Mr. Paul Mitchell motioned to approve Resolution 2021-05 and Mr. Mark O'Bryant seconded. The motion was approved.

6. MEMBER COMMENTS

Mr. Paul Mitchell, Mr. Mark O'Bryant, and Schoolboard Member Darryl Jones requested the record reflect a positive vote on resolution 2021-04.

7. ADJOURNMENT

Meeting adjourned at 5:46 p.m.